I am so appreciative of the feedback I heard from my last blog about meal planning – anyone who has started it I’d love to hear how it is going?

With that I thought maybe I’d share a few other things that I have changed around my house to be healthier & more cost efficient.

First thing I remember doing was homemade deodorant…I know I know – “you must be NUTS?”  Yes I am for sure but I did it because I was always super sweaty – like had prescription antiperspirant that would literally singe my armpits – it wasn’t enjoyable to say the least.  So I started doing some investigating and decided to try this.  It was unbelievably helpful.  I do NOT sweat nearly as much anymore and find many days I even forget to put deodorant on.  Here is the link for what I have made, I don’t add the Vit. E and almost always use Lavender Oil (I have used a lemon verbena before in the summer that is nice).  My only warning is coconut oil has a low melting point so don’t pack it on a hot vacation place – likely it will melt before you get there 🙂 .  I alway keep mine in a small ball jar.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Deodorant/

Speaking of coconut oil – I use it for EVERYTHING!!!  We cook with it, I use it as facial moisturizer, skin lotion, for bug bites, scratches – you name it I always start with coconut oil.

The next big thing I changed was laundry soap. I wish I would have calculated how much money I have saved just in laundry products.  I love this “recipe”, it is simple, smells great, cleans well and one batch lasts for months in our house (I maybe make it 2-3 times a year).  Here is the recipe I use – you can search in Pinterest and find 100 different variations:

1 (4 lb 12 oz) Box of Borax– Found in the detergent aisle

1 (3 lb 7 oz) Box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda– Found in the detergent aisle

2 (14.1 oz) Bars of Fels-Naptha or Zote Soap– Found in the detergent aisle – I use the large holes in my cheese grater to make the soap smaller.  (I prefer the smell of the Fels-Naptha – the Zote is pink and also smells fresh but I much prefer the Fels-Naptha)

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 9.26.17 AM.pngScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 9.28.01 AM.png

1 (4 lb) Box of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda– Found in the cooking aisle (You could also get two 2 lb box, we couldn’t find the larger 4lb box when we went)

I layer this into a bucket and stir every so often – I have a nice glass jar I keep it in and use about 2 tablespoons/load.

These are probably my two favorite changes I’ve made.  We do other things like wash wood floors with vinegar, water and some essential oils and I always soak fruits and veggies in vinegar and water.

I would LOVE to add to my list of things I could do to be more cost efficient and healthier here at the McGrath house so PLEASE pass along any tricks, recipes and/or ideas you have!

 

