Have you ever been paralyzed by fear?  Maybe it was a spider, or being on the top of a high building, or taking that new job – whatever it was had you stopped dead in your tracks thinking “holy smokes I can’t do this!”

Why is it we allow fear to do this to us?  When we look at the simple definition of fear it’s defined as: “an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.”  I think the key word there is BELIEF…we believe this could potentially be something bad and just that simple belief makes the body and mind do unbelievable things…anxious feeling, worried, excuses, we create this “alternate world” – all the things that COULD happen (which I find only worsens the fear for me).  Can you relate to this feeling?  This heightened state of fear because you’ve create all the “what if’s” in your mind and now they have you gasping for breath?  We read all the quotes about fear holding us down, preventing growth, kills more dreams than failure ever will…just google it – the quotes are endless – AND TRUE!

Remember when we were kids and there was no fear (or think about your own kids who seem afraid of nothing) – remember how free and able we felt?  At what point did we start fearing our dreams – limiting our growth?  And what about when those dreams today start to become a reality…have you ever found yourself sabotaging them out of fear?  I caught myself doing it this week!!!

Now that I can recognize fear creeping in and trying to wreak havoc on my dreams I am able to take a deep breath and refocus that energy.  I am going to think about how amazing life WILL be when that dream comes true instead of worrying about all the little things along the way, instead of sabotaging my own dream before it even has a chance to come true.

So I ask you:

What are you afraid of?

Have you ever found yourself sabotaging your own dreams?

What would your life be like if you didn’t have fear?  Fear quotes best images pics photos pictures (22)

