So much talk about acceptance and embracing who we are…talk of not judging ourselves and others that now I am confused!!!!

Here is what confuses me…I like to be fit, I like to look fit – I push myself, weigh myself, critique myself because that is what I like…but do I?  Why does the thought of gaining 4 pounds on a 4 day cruise make me look in the mirror and see a totally different body than before the cruise?  I can say the words “be comfortable with who you are today” and I mean it….for other people!!!!  So is it ok to like to look fit or want to “dream” of having a six pack”?  Or am I supposed to be willing to let go of it all and just see what happens…

Do I feel this way because of all the social pressures and advertising?  I don’t think so…I can look at a woman who is not what I strive for and think she is the most amazingly beautiful person in the room and I will have no bones about telling her!  So why?  And is it ok? And how do I say out loud to people “embrace who you are” if I am not able to…or, have I embraced that I want/need to look fit?

See, see what I mean, I’m confused…

 

