I grew up a tom-boy…played sports with the boys, related to the boys, enjoyed time with the boys.  Don’t get me wrong I had a couple good girlfriends as well to enjoy vacations, sleepovers etc but I felt more at ease with a group of boys.  Then comes that awkward shift – when boys and girls start to notice each other differently and as much as you try to just be buddies it almost always came with some kind of complexity…the boy liked you in a “different’ way or you and your girlfriend both liked the same boy.  I think that is when life started to take different shape.  Instead of giggling with your girlfriends that catty chat (interestingly this relates back to my first blog 🙂 ) began.  The start to the end of Sisterhood.  Now the claws were out, you had to wear the “right” cloths, act the “right” way, be smart but not too smart, be athletic, be something or somebody that likely was not our authentic self.  This is when we started cutting other girls down that threatened us or made us feel uneasy for some reason.  I will say, for me, that practice continued into my 30’s, it lessened as time passed, but happened (and I would be lying if I said I don’t still have my moments!) BUT around mid 30’s I think I started “finding myself” and with that came more space for women in my life.  I have increasingly grown my circle of sisters from that moment on and it has been amazing!  Ever take a “GIRLS ONLY trip”?  If you have I am guessing just reading that made you smile, made you remember the fun you had with your girls, the laughs, the tears, the connection.  There is something different about being with a group of sisters, something that is hard to explain, something that makes you feel whole, accepted, inspired and empowered. Don’t get me wrong, I love time with the boys in my life too (I know my hubby will read this and wonder about his shout out!! 🙂 )…but man do I look forward to my sister time.  

Here’s to you and your Sisters!!!!  Tag them on this post to let them know how important they are to you – even if you don’t get to see them often! 

Much Love!